A bilingual and multimedial online journal published by the Institute for Research on the Renaissance, the Neo-Classical Age, and the Enlightenment (IRCL, UMR 5186, a joint research centre of CNRS and Université Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3).


Florence March (Université Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3, France)
Jean-Christophe Mayer (CNRS, France)
Peter J Smith (Nottingham Trent University, UK)
Nathalie Vienne-Guerrin (Université Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3, France)

ISSN 0184-7678
Tri-annual publication: April, July, November
Website: http:journals.sagepub.com/ce
Contact: cahiers (at) univ-montp3.fr
Twitter: @CahiersE

Cahiers Élisabéthains is an international, peer-reviewed English-language scholarly journal publishing articles and reviews on all aspects of the English Renaissance. The term is given its broadest connotation: subjects have ranged from Chaucer to Restoration drama and beyond. The literature and drama of the Elizabethan period is, however, the focal point of our interest. Cahiers Élisabéthains is supported by the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) for its Scholarly Excellence, on the advice of an independent committee.

This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

Editorial Team

Founding Editors
Antoine Demadre (†)
Jean Fuzier (†)
Florence March,Université Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3 – France
Jean-Christophe MayerCNRS – France
Peter J. SmithNottingham Trent University – UK
Nathalie Vienne-GuerrinUniversité Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3 – France
Assistant Editor
Agnès LafontUniversité Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3 – France
Special Issues Editor
Pierre KapitaniakUniversité Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3 – France
Reviews Editors
Janice Valls-Russell (books)CNRS – France
Daniel Yabut (performances)CNRS – France
Advisory Board
Sir Andrew Jonathan BateCBE Worcester College Oxford – UK
J. W. BinnsUniversity of York – UK
John JowettShakespeare Institute,
University of Birmingham – UK
Yves PeyréUniversité Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3 – France
Lois PotterUniversity of Delaware – US
Robert SmallwoodStratford-upon-Avon – UK
George Walton WilliamsDuke University – US
Sir Stanley WellsShakespeare Birthplace Trust,
Stratford-upon-Avon – UK
Charles WhitworthUniversité Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3 – France
Editorial Board
Don BeecherCarleton University – Canada
Luc BorotUniversité Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3 – France
Clara Calvo Universidad de Murcia – Espagne
Tobias DöringLudwig-Maxmilians-Universität München – Allemagne
Patricia DorvalUniversité Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3 – France
Atsuiko HirotaKyoto University – Japon
A. J. HoenselaarsUniversiteit Utrecht – Pays Bas
M. J. KidnieUniversity of Western Ontario – Canada
François LaroqueUniversité Sorbonne Nouvelle – France
Michele Marrapodi Università Degli Studi di Palermo – Italie
Ladan NiayeshUniversité Paris-Diderot – France
Anne PageAix-Marseille Université – France
Stuart SillarsUniversitetet i Bergen – Norvège
Jesús Tronch PérezUniversitat de València – Espagne
Former Editors-in-Chief
Jean-Marie Maguin (†)Université Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3 – France
Charles WhitworthUniversité Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3 – France
Yves PeyréUniversité Paul-Valéry Montpellier 3 – France